Residents for Uttlesford announce new ‘Residents Administration’ appointments at Uttlesford District Council

Residents for Uttlesford (R4U) has announced its key cabinet, portfolio and committee appointments since gaining control of Uttlesford District Council in the May 2019 local elections. The new administration includes 4 new portfolios that focus on key issues identified by local residents.

John Lodge (R4U) John Lodge (R4U)

R4U’s Cllr John Lodge, newly elected leader of Uttlesford District Council, said “There is a hugely talented team of councillors at UDC from all parties, so our job has been to design a Residents Administration that can make use of all their experience to deliver on our manifesto pledges. We’ve had great support from chief executive Dawn French and her team throughout the process.”

“We are stuck with the existing cabinet system until we can review it to consider if it should be replaced with something more democratic, but we’ve already made some significant changes. We have designed a larger, wider cabinet structure with less hierarchy. This is more democratic as it will reduce the control that the leader previously had by giving many more people a voice at the table. It will not cost any more because we have cut cabinet allowances.”

The new cabinet and committee members were elected in at the first full council meeting on 21st May. L-R: New UDC Council Leader John Lodge (R4U), with chief executive Dawn French, council chair Richard Freeman (R4U) and vice-chair Martin Foley (Lib Dem).

R4U’s John Lodge continued “There are now 15 portfolios held by 10 cabinet member councillors. The new portfolios reflect the things that residents have told us are important. Anthony Gerard will lead the new Resident and Community Partnerships portfolio. A key goal for him is to drive change at UDC to make sure the resident is always listened to and at the centre of everything the council does. A lack of infrastructure investment is a long-standing issue. Deryk Eke has the big task of leading the new Infrastructure, Transport and Airport portfolio. Residents told us they want action on climate change, so Louise Pepper will head up the new ‘Environment and Green Issues’ portfolio. She is also picking up the new Equalities portfolio. Our first subtle action in that area is that the council will now use the neutral term ‘chair’ in preference to the outdated ‘chairman’ – a very small but important change.”

“We are committed to cross-party working. We understand and respect the Lib-Dem’s decision to decline our offer to join the cabinet. However we are delighted that they’ve accepted the position as Vice Chair of the Council for Martin Foley. We look forward to working with their entire team. Scrutiny of the council is important and it is best practice if it is not done by the majority party. We are delighted that Independent councillor Neil Gregory has accepted the role of chair of the Scrutiny Committee, and that Conservative Edward Oliver will chair the Governance & Audit Committee.”

Cllr Lodge concluded “With everything in place, the team is excited to get started. We have some big issues to deal with right away, such as the Local Plan and Stansted Airport. While there will undoubtedly be bumps along the way, our team is energised, focused and excited to start work with chief exec Dawn and her staff.”

Cabinet portfolio holder appointments (R4U unless stated):

  • Council Leader: John Lodge
  • Deputy Leader: Petrina Lees
  • Business, Economy, Jobs & Strategy: Paul Fairhurst
  • Council and Public Service Delivery: Heather Asker
  • Culture, Heritage & Tourism: Barbara Light:
  • Education & Libraries: Barbara Light
  • Environment and Green Issues: Louise Pepper
  • Equalities: Louise Pepper
  • Finance & Budget: Neil Hargreaves
  • Health & Wellbeing: Petrina Lees
  • Housing: Petrina Lees
  • Infrastructure, Transport and Stansted Airport: Deryk Eke
  • Planning and the Local Plan: John Lodge
  • Police and Emergency Services: Anthony Gerard
  • Residents and Community Partnerships: Anthony Gerard
  • Sports & Leisure: Alex Armstrong
  • Youth Services: Paul Fairhurst

Council chair appointments:

  • Council Chair: Richard Freeman
  • Council Vice Chair: Martin Foley (Lib Dem)

Committee chair appointments:

  • Governance, Audit And Performance: Edward Oliver (Cons)
  • Licensing And Environmental Health: Patrick Lavelle
  • Planning: Sandi Merifield
  • Scrutiny: Neil Gregory (Ind):
  • Standards: Neil Reeve

About Residents for Uttlesford